So much for holiday cheer…
Tune in as we discuss the Detroit Red Wings & their two losses to a fellow bottom-feeder in Lane Hutson’s Montreal Canadiens, including Simon Edvinsson being out leaving Moritz Seider and Ben Chiarot to fend for themselves (with Lagesson getting his first game), Talbot & Lyon not saving the day per usual, Patrick Kane, Joe Veleno, Michael Rasmussen, & Tyler Motte contributing, terrible special teams, and an altogether brutal weekend for Derek Lalonde’s squad (6:30). After that, a look at where this team is at as we head into our Christmas break, including Dylan Larkin’s scoring slump, how the team is performing behind Lucas Raymond, Alex DeBrincat & Co., & whether the tank for Hagens, Schaefer, Martone, Misa, etc. is truly on for Steve Yzerman’s Hockeytown team (20:35).
Next, a conversation with Bob Kaser, voice of the AHL Grand Rapids Griffins, to talk some positivity: Red Wings pipeline in Sebastian Cossa, Nate Danielson, Maroc Kasper, Jonatan Berggren, Amadeus Lombardi, Wallinder, Carter Mazur, & plenty more (32:20).
After that, Red Wings news including John Keating calling it an incredible career, Trey Augustine, Max Plante, Jesse Kiiskinen, and Axel Sandin Pellikka at the World Juniors as well as a conversation about whether Steve Yzerman needs to make a coaching change in Derek Lalonde or a trade with a team like Buffalo (Cozens? Byram?) (1:06:30).
Finally, NHL NHL including Matt Rempe’s high hit (1:13:30) before we take your questions & comments in our Overtime segment (1:20:55) – enjoy!
Head over to wingedwheelpodcast.com to find all the ways to listen, how to support the show, and so much more!
WWP NIGHT w/ the DETROIT RED WINGS (Mar. 29th – barber pole jersey) tickets: wingedwheelpodcast.com/redwings
WWP NIGHT w/ the GRAND RAPIDS GRIFFINS (Jan. 18th – Griffins beanie) tickets: https://griffinshockey.com/wwp
Hot Stove Rounding the Bases: https://jamiedanielsfoundation.org/featured-event/hot-stove-stories-rounding-the-bases-with-mike-tirico/
Head to bit.ly/labatt_wingedwheelpodcast to find Labatt in stores near you today! Must be 21+. Always Enjoy Responsibly. #ad
—–
Thank you for making us the biggest Detroit Red Wings podcast on the air! #RedWings #LGRW
Website: https://www.wingedwheelpodcast.com
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/wingedwheelpodcast
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/WingedWheelPod (Check out the bio to follow the hosts!)
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/wingedwheelpodcast
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wingedwheelpodcast
Listen on…
Apple Podcasts: https://itunes.apple.com/podcast/winged-wheel-podcast/id969768868
Google Podcasts: https://www.google.com/podcasts?feed=aHR0cDovL2ZlZWRzLmZlZWRidXJuZXIuY29tL1dpbmdlZFdoZWVsUG9kY2FzdA%3D%3D
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wp4fEi1EO741UlxPMGtaS
SoundCloud: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wp4fEi1EO741UlxPMGtaS
RSS Feed: http://wingedwheelpodcast.libsyn.com/rss
29 Comments
As much as I want to see this team win/make the playoffs, I think they’re benefit more from a top 5 draft pick.
The word “prospect” is so overused and devoid of meaning at this point. We were supposed to be having the prospect conversation in 2019, and we did, when it was a fresh start it makes sense. here we are… 6 years later, and bottom of the division. who is going to take accountability for this? The least Yzerman could do it address the fans that basically allow you to have your job. What a smug jackass.
merry christmas fellas!
The problem with tank is that RW is the worst team in the league to do it. It is also noticeable that the conflict of the business side versus the sports side has taken a big hit this year. The number of visitors per game has steadily declined and those numbers do not include all those like me who follow teams live via the internet.
But the decline has been there for several years and is not at all due to bad luck in the draft draw, which is mostly a poor excuse by the staff in the organization. Where Lalonde this year sounds like a repetitive record completely without the presence of reality in his own analyses today.
S.Y believed that the team needed Vet's for their leadership and create a winning culture for all the young people to take part in. 6 years of his leadership and the team culture is that the players do not believe in the staff's version at all anymore, it is clearly visible in all the press media for everyone to take part off. How bad the product is on the ice today is that no one can sit safely.
So tank, should have been done years ago and should have been done better by the organization's staff. The only thing that can save S.Y today is if he blows up the team and only keeps MO/Raz out and everyone else including Cat & Larks to be available. The problem is that no other team is interested in players from RW as they are former or average at best.
6 years of drafting where the strategy has always been to take the best available player and had never expand with a new version.
Merry Christmas
Bribing the guys with a janky 3d printer nice 😂
Merry Christmas gents! Keep up the great work. Big fan of the pod. Thank you!
Time to sit Petry and play Albert Johansson all the time to see him develop
I'm sorry, I'm an old man and was only vaguely listening to the open of this episode. What is a giblet that Evan references? 🤷
Stop drafting "safe" players – checkers. Need scorers, playmakers.
Yet we still have Yzerman fanboys making excuses for this pathetic product. We are currently in the same spot of the standings as we were when he took over, so the real question is, what is he doing? Yes, yes, I know. Wait for the kids, blah blah blah. We all torched Holland when he said a rebuild would take 10 years, yet by the looks of it, it will be 10 years with Stevie before we make the playoffs. How is that acceptable? Bad move after bad move, yet fans cant separate the player from the manager. I guess Detroit fans are cool with being subpar for the rest of time.
If they replaced Lalonde with Tanguay, there's a better chance of the team improving than if they replaced him with Boughner. Really, I think if Lalonde is fired, Boughner has to go with him.
Not the prospect pipeline!
Prospect pipeline episode….in December. Jfc.
It's not your fault, I know. But I'm gonna put the podcast down for the next 9 months. I can't do this.
I am sooo surprised that's the red wings, a mighty franchise doesn't have the pair to fire a mediocre coach like lalonde. I don't care if it's a rebuild process, the red wings are the red wings an original 6, and the office is acting as if the team is a small franchise. I'm sorry but this is ridiculous. Lalonde has to go he needed to go since losing to the sharks and nothing has been done. Mediocre!
I do miss last year's Team. This has been a big mistake by management!
The December curse is almost over… it's ZERO to HERO time, baby!! Lalonde's hair is going to grow back, baby!! We're gonna make it into the playoffs, baby!! We're gonna get knocked out in the 1st round!! Heyyo!!
better than being a buffalo fan right now….. 13 L's in a row god damn!!!!
This hockey team is impossible to watch. They're so bad and play ghe most boring hockey. Team defense is absolutely trash and not one player is trying or willing to throw a hit, let alone finish a check. LaLonde needs to go, now.
For all of the Yzerman haters out there complaining about the FA signings, I'm genuinely curious what he should have done differently to move the needle.
I would rather see the Wings lose 6 to 4 or 7 to five and provide fast paced excitement than watch these intensely boring product they are putting on the ice.
Winning is necessary of course.But if you are losing and putting your fans to sleep,what's the use? Futility.
Prospect pools can always be analyzed to fit a narrative – ours isn't actually very good when looked at objectively. We're really relying on ASP and Danielson to save our organization? LMAO. Hopeless team, hopeless front office, hopeless coaching staff. 10 years away from being 10 years away.
The Red Wings will not be any good until Yzerman leaves because he is making bad moves.
You guys should get hazard pay for running a Eings podcast it's been so ugly. I'd be fine if you wanted to watch the Wings in shifts Brad takes one game, Ryan gets the next, and then Evan. Spread the pain out a little. Merry Christmas boys.
If you guys are down about the loss to the Canadiens, wait till you see what St Louis did to us. Not gonna go to another game until I hear Lalonde is gone.
The wings have regressed
Dude, the red wings won’t make ANY changes….. nothing
Another blunder by Yzerman,,just got rid of the coach and now instead of having a chance at a high pick in 2025,, new coach will most likely get that coach changing boost and the Wings will end up with a mid first round pick and still miss the playoffs !!
The tiny santa hats on the toys are everything.
As a fellow NMU Wildcat Alum, thank you, Evan, for mentioning Dominic Shine.